Doing my bit to save the world

Its Earth Day today, I think that’s a perfect time to start my blog. I love Earth Day – I have since the very first one in 1970. My sister and I were toddlers and though my mom was hardly an activist or hippie, she wanted us to be part of the action (a couple years earlier she’d woken us up to watch, uncomprehendingly, the moon landing so that some day we could say we did. And here I am saying it – thank you, mom!) So mom gathered up the arts and crafts and let us pick what we wanted our handmade posters to say. One said “Make the bad smells go away,” I can’t remember what the other said. But there we were, at the start of a movement – adorable twins on the sidewalk begging the powers that be to stop pollution and the destruction of the environment. There is photographic evidence, but it seems to have been misplaced over years of moves. If I find it, you can be sure I’ll post it.

Since then, I’ve been involved in many a protest – I love social action. Before I realized my left-leaning bent, my mother had us campaigning for the republican candidate – but I feel no shame in my early politicing for the woman who may be the best right-winger in office today – Olympia Snowe (that’s my sister in the back row just to Olympia’s right, I’m standing a couple rows ahead to her left). 

I was at the No Nukes rally in Central Park in 1982; I stood on the West Side Highway with my friends Susan, Laura, and Matt in 1986 holding Hands Across America.

I marched on Washington in the early 1990s to keep choice safe in this country (of photo of us at that effort turned up on the Barbara Walters special on 20-somethings when she featured one of my protest-mates).

I’ve marched along side folks from the VDay Foundation to protest war and to fight violence against women.

 

I’ve occupied Wall Street.

But time marches on and my angry-young-man days are somewhat over (although for the right issue, you’ll certainly see me holding a sign by the side of a road. I recently joined a group of hoodie-wearing folks in the Berkshires trying to raise awareness about the Trayvon Martin case).

Now I’m just trying to be the best person I can be. Its possible I’m having a mid-life crisis, or maybe its just time to reinvent (I’ve been told I do that too much) Anyway, I’m gonna try to live as sustainable life as I can; to help people in any way I can, whenever I can; to treat everyone (and the earth) with love and respect; and to have a little fun along the way.

This blog is going to be about those efforts. It’ll include a lot about my attempts to lower my carbon footprint, but it’ll probably include bits and pieces about what ever is going on in the world – the big world or my little world – that is interesting to me.

So I’m greening – I’m renewing myself as much as I can, in as many ways as I can. Thanks for coming along for the ride!

This entry was posted in Activism, Happiness, Sustainable and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

